Richard Efrus: Brooklyn Nets Community Relations Internship

Richard Efrus, student at Montclair State University, talks about his internship experience with the Brooklyn Nets. 

1. What were some of the tasks you performed on a daily basis?

Each day I filed the donation requests from fans and companies to use at their charity events and fundraisers. I sent team items out to these people. The items included autographed pictures, basketballs, jerseys, Nets hats and other Nets memorabilia.

I attended all team and player events in Brooklyn, and attended all Nets home games. For games, I helped with a 50:50 raffle in the arena and I helped with post game meet and greets. Before the game, I also helped with fan experiences on the court during player warm-ups.

2. Did you have a specific project catered to your internship/experience?

I did not have a specific project to work on during my internship.

3. How well was your experience with your supervisor?

I had two supervisors, and they were both great. They gave me many responsibilities and trusted me to do a lot. I learned so much from them both and I still keep in touch with them to this day!

4. What did you learn from the experience?

I learned how to work in a professional setting and make connections in the real world. The most important thing I learned though is to never be afraid to put your hand out. You never know who you might meet!

5. Would you recommend this opportunity to other students? Why?

I would recommend students to intern with the Brooklyn Nets. They offer a number of internships each semester in a variety of different departments within the organization. I loved my time with the Nets, and the organization is a world class place to be. They truly want to help their interns learn and take on as much as they can to be better professionals in the sports industry.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Experiences, Sports Media/Relations

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment