Matt Smith: IMG Learfield Ticket Solutions Regional Manager

Matt Smith, Regional Manager, for IMG Learfield Ticket Solutions talks about his background in sports. 

Matt Smith
photo credit:LinkedIn

1. How did you get started in the sports industry, and what do you think has made you successful throughout your career?

I got my start in sports with an internship with Kroenke Sports and the Denver Nuggets. I was a Summer Sales Associate making 80-100 cold calls a day to set up season ticket meetings for the full-time Account Executives.

What has made me successful throughout my career is the ability to establish solid relationships with season ticket holders, group buyers and prominent business leaders.

2. If you were a student, what would you do to try to break into the sports industry now?

The best way to break into the sports industry is a non-paid internship, preferably in ticket sales. If you can sell tickets and generate revenue for an organization then you can handle any job in that organization.

3. What impresses you on a resume from someone who is applying for a career in this field?

When I look at a resume, I want to see how diverse a candidate is and see the many talents and responsibilities they have had in their previous jobs. I also want to see what activities they participate in or have participated in. This helps me determine if they are competitive or not.

4. How has your job affected your lifestyle?

My job has had a significant affect on my lifestyle. I am a very outgoing individual which allows me to get along with anyone I meet. It allows me an opportunity to meet a lot of people in my field of work, and I learn something new from everyone I meet each day.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Interviews, Sports Sales - Professionals

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment